Tags

, ,

AUGUST 17 IS:
GEOCACHING DAY

You may be wondering how I warped into the future and am writing this post prior to the actual holiday. Well, you see, my brain doesn’t function as well as it did before I had two mind-sucking little people constantly stealing my intelligence. Yeah…I got my weekends mixed up. I realized this when it was too late and then just decided to go with it. Hey, this is my blog and I do what I want. Deal with it.

Now I will begin to chronicle this week’s escapade. For those of you that don’t know what geocaching is, here is the lovely Wikipedia definition:

Geocaching is an outdoor recreational activity, in which the participants use a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver or mobile device and other navigational techniques to hide and seek containers, called “geocaches” or “caches”, anywhere in the world.

A typical cache is a small waterproof container containing a logbook where the geocacher enters the date they found it and signs it with their established code name. After signing into the log, the cache must be placed back exactly where the person found it. Larger containers such as plastic storage containers (Tupperware or similar) or ammunition boxes can also contain items for trading, usually toys or trinkets of little financial value, although sometimes they are sentimental.

I had never been geocaching before, but I was well aware of what it was because my parents are actually semi-avid geocachers. To start our adventure I downloaded the FREE geocaching app. This app will allow you to search for geocaches from anywhere. It is pretty crazy to see just how many of these things there are all over the place. When I searched from our house, there were 5 within a one mile radius. Seriously, they are everywhere! We were visiting Rich’s mom on this holiday (or what I had thought was this holiday) and I figured it would be fun to see if there were any close to her so we could all go together. Not surprisingly, there was one that was just over a quarter mile from her place. The rest of our journey will now be relayed in this fabulous photo montage:

Using the Geocaching app to find a cache.

Setting out on our quest.

Following the yellow brick road….sort of.

We made it to the coordinates, now it’s time to start the search.

Searching…..

More searching….

About to throw in the towel, but wait…

What’s this???

We found it!

Roman was excited.

Leo just wanted to eat it….like everything else he manages to get into his little hands.

VICTORY! We’re pros now.

Oh, then on the way home there was a giant turtle in the road. Rich was going to pick him up and move him, but as soon as he touched him that bad boy bucked him off like a wild horse! Not related to geocaching at all, but like I said I do what I want with this blog. 🙂

 BONUS PICTURES

Mommy and Leo being silly.

Roman checking out our deer friend in the backyard.

