Tags

, , , ,

 

NATIONAL FARMERS MARKET WEEK

Before this week’s holiday I had been to a couple farmers markets in my day. I will admit that it is definitely not a habit of mine and I typically just lazily purchase my fruits and vegetables at the super mega grocery store. It was a refreshing change of pace taking the time to peruse the fresh, organic and locally grown produce at our downtown farmers market. I did not realize until I did my research for this holiday that Downtown Farmington holds a regular Farmers and Artisans Market every Saturday from May to the beginning of November. The awesome things you find in your own city when you do a little exploring! I told Roman the night before that when Dad got home from work we were going to go to the Farmers Market. He got all excited and started talking about cows and pigs and all that lovely FARM stuff. I had to explain to him that there were no animals there, just fruits and vegetables and things like that. He agreed and said yes, fruits and vegetables to feed the animals. Typical conversation with a 2 ½ year old, they only hear what they want to hear. Anyhow, we hit up the market early on Saturday and were pleased to find a lot of great offerings:

As you can see, it was a beautiful day!

 

Super fresh!

We had a little breakfast too and it was marvelous. I had a breakfast sandwich and Rich got a bacon waffle. I will repeat that, a BACON waffle. It was downright sinful tasting. The boys could not get enough:

Yum town.

Then we ran into some of our Farmington Hills pals, the Schertel posse. Yippee!

Yeah, Rich and I have on matching shirts…..nerd alert.

I am sad you cannot really see Karen’s super cute baby bump that was housing their TWO baby boys. She actually just had the twins TODAY!!!! Yay! More friends for Roman and Leo! After making several laps around the various stands we ended up buying green beans, blackberries, peaches, lettuce, peppers and popcorn. It was a good haul and it was really nice to get out in the open air to do a little sidewalk shopping. I think we will try to go up there more often. It is always good to support your community and it is also a much healthier way to buy some quality food.

 

BONUS PICTURES

Brotherly love

Holy crap! My hair fell off! Don’t worry, it’s going to be donated to a Michigan based charity – http://www.childrenwithhairloss.us/

