Tags

, , ,

NATIONAL BABY FOOD WEEK

I’m a bad mom. I have never made baby food from scratch, nor did I ever have any desire to do so. This week was my time for redemption – National Baby Food Week. I started my mission by searching the interweb for ‘interesting baby food recipes’. I came across the site weelicious.com and picked a few recipes that I thought I could handle. The first one was called Spinach Gnocch-wee. Basically this is just spinach and ricotta & parmesan cheese blended together and then made into little balls that you boil. Simple enough, I can handle this one. Since the recipe calls for the balls to be put in the freezer for 30 minutes before boiling, I opted to make these during my lunch hour so they were ready for cooking after work.

Ready to freeze my balls.

Dinnertime arrived and I was ready to boil:

Ewwwwww

Hmmmm…..something seems awry…..my beautifully rolled balls instantly disintegrated as soon as they hit the boiling water. That’s not supposed to happen, right? I was perplexed. I looked back at the recipe and quickly realized my mistake….flour. I have completely overlooked the 2 tablespoons of flour as one of the ingredients. Awesome. On the bright side, I had only obliterated half of my balls. I was able to mash the rest of them back into a dough and added the flour (only 1 tablespoon…see, I’m not that dumb!). Boiling part 2:

Much better!

Great success! Now after all that, how will they stack up against my baby boy’s palate?

Checking it out.

NOT a fan.

Well, I think it’s safe to say I will most likely not be locking this one down in my recipe box. The next one I found was MUCH easier – Avocado. That’s it! Avocado! I can totally not mess this one up! I opted to cut it up into chunks rather than mash it up since Leo prefers finger foods these days. He seemed a little more receptive to this one:

Ready to chow down.

Leo likey!

I am all for experimenting with new foods for my kids, but I will probably hang up my chef hat and stick to the culinary creations by Gerber.

BONUS PICTURES

Richie Rich and I enjoying the Vintage Cars at Cedar Point. Burn Rubber!!

Big Bro Roman riding his sweet bike. I’m sure he’s going to be thrilled about all these pics of him in his undies when he grows up.

