Tags

, , ,

June 30th Holiday

METEOR DAY

I will admit, when I saw that Meteor Day was my only option for holidays today I was a little distraught. What a boring holiday to have as my very last holiday to celebrate. After giving it some thought I figured out a way to make it into a good post. Here is the scenario: you, and you alone, due to some fantastical knowledge (let’s not think too much about how or where this knowledge came from, shall we?) know that a meteor is going to hit Earth in exactly one year and everything is going to be obliterated. What would you do? This is a similar scenario to people who have terminal illnesses or things like that, but today is Meteor Day so it fits a lot better. Basically, what would be on your Bucket List? Well, first I would immediately quit my job…this is obvious. The main thing I would want to do is travel and see the world. Travelling is always something that has been of great interest to me, as I’m sure it is to most humans, but I am basically waiting until retirement to really dedicate some time to it. This is where the ‘coulda, woulda, shoulda’ factor comes into effect later in life. Because I’m waiting so long to do a lot of things, who knows if they ever will come to fruition or not. That is why I like this little fantasy I have here. I KNOW how much time there is and I can finally get off my butt and do all the cool stuff I dream about. So, travel is number one. I would like to go pretty much everywhere. I have always wanted to go to London and of course I would want to hit up Italy and Paris and Alaska and Hawaii and Australia and Japan……you get the gist. Next, I would go skydiving. I have always been interested in this, but the older I get the scarier it sounds. I would save this for the end of the year in case something went wrong. I would eat at all the fanciest restaurants all over the world. I would buy whatever clothes and shoes I wanted and not give a second thought about the price. I would let my kids do whatever they wanted – space camp, Disney World, you name it. I guess I would just do whatever I wanted that sounded fun at the moment. I wouldn’t stress about money or making sure everything was perfect, I would just live in the now. I wish this was something I could really do, but I do not have a money tree in my backyard and I have many ‘normal life’ responsibilities. This doesn’t mean that I can’t have my moments. That is what this blog was all about, finding happiness in the simple things. Celebrating a holiday for no particular reason, just because! It was my way of living in the moment for a small portion of every single day for an entire year. So, if and when that meteor does decide to come plummeting towards Earth, I will be prepared to let go of my worries and just have fun. Isn’t that what life is all about when it really comes down to it?

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

One of the few R.E.M. songs that I actually like:

 

P.S. – Yes, this is the last and final holiday of my yearlong blog spectacular. Don’t worry though, I will be doing a full wrap-up as well as a final post on just how this experience has been for me.

