Tags

, ,

June 25th Holiday

PLEASE TAKE MY CHILDREN TO WORK DAY

Today’s holiday is for all the stay-at-home parents out there. There is a common misconception that being a stay-at-home parent is easy and that these people are not actually ‘working’. Well, let me tell you, I don’t think I could be a stay-at-home mom. I never had intentions of not working after having kids, mainly because I need some time to just be Hayley, not Mom. That is my own personal prerogative though. I may also have a different opinion, say, if I won a gazillion dollars in the lottery or something. That may change my stance on working just a wee bit. Stay-at-home parents have the hardest job out there. They are expected to constantly keep tabs on their kids, keep them entertained, feed them, make meals for the whole family, clean the house, do laundry and basically have zero down time for themselves the entire day:

Having only one child right now, I can barely keep up with him on my days off. I cannot imagine how things are going to be with two running around like crazy banshees. I highly respect and fully embrace those brave souls who choose to stay at home with their children. This post makes me sound like I don’t like being around my kid or something, but that is totally not the case. There are many other obstacles, and constant feelings of guilt, with working full-time and having kids. I always say, in an ideal world I would work part-time so that I could basically have the best of both worlds. Maybe someday…. For today’s holiday, I celebrated two of the stay-at-home mommies in my life – Michele and Melissa. I sent them special cards letting them know I was thinking about them and also letting them know they are doing a fabulous job raising their kiddos. To all the stay-at-home parents out there, may you be blessed with nice, calm children….and if not, may you be blessed with a nice, strong drink after they go to sleep!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $6

Clip of the Day:

An homage to all the stay-at-home dads:

P.S. – I fear that child may suffer some permanent damage from that crazy strobe light.

