Tags

, , , , ,

June 16th Holiday

NATIONAL FUDGE DAY

Fudge is probably one of the easiest things in the world to make. Let me rephrase that – mediocre fudge is easy to make. I’m sure the high quality fudge they sell at Mackinac Island or even Frankenmuth may involve a little more time, effort and quality ingredients. For today’s holiday, I found a simple fudge recipe and gave it a try. The only ingredients I needed were chocolate chips, sweetened condensed milk, salt and vanilla. The recipe suggested using either semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips. To be a little daring, I used THREE different varieties of chocolate. Oh yeah. Three. Dark, milk and semi-sweet chips:

Blending them all together in the giant melting pot o’ chocolate:

The finished product, yep it is that easy!

Having a bite:

How did it turn out? It was edible. I thought it tasted a little bitter, maybe due to the dark chocolate chips. I don’t know. I guess I cannot expect it to be super awesomely amazing when I am not making it from scratch and simply melting chocolate chips. To be honest, it tasted better the next day after it sat in the fridge for a little while. It was a fudgy good day all around though and I’m glad I tried my hand and making some instead of just taking the easy route and buying it. Except now I have fudge on the brain….GOOD fudge….a trip to Frankenmuth may be in order.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $10

Clip of the Day:

 Oooooohhhhhhhhh fuuuuuuuuuudge:

 

P.S. – Too bad this clip doesn’t show the mom’s reaction. She acts like she just found out Ralphie killed a man or something.

