Tags

, ,

June 17th Holiday

FATHER’S DAY

It’s Dad’s Day! I was always confused by a lot of the standard Father’s Day stuff when I was growing up. What do I mean by this? I mean that when you are out looking for Father’s Day cards or gifts, many of them are things like ties or golf related crap. Let me tell you, when I think of my Dad I don’t really think of golf and I definitely do not think of ties. My Dad is a hard-working, blue-collar, motorcycle driving, meat and potatoes man’s man. He does not wear ties unless forced to do so. My Dad was always the ‘nice’ parent growing up (sorry, Mom – I don’t mean this in a bad way towards you!). I don’t recall him ever yelling at me or telling me no. Maybe because I was his little girl and I could get away with whatever I wanted when I was with him. A key moment in my life that made me realize a lot about my father was when I was doing a questionnaire for my parents’ 25th anniversary scrapbook. There are a lot of things you don’t realize about your parents until you are an adult yourself. There are a lot of questions you don’t ask just because it never occurred to you to have these sorts of conversations with someone you have known your whole life. The question was, “What is your biggest fear?” My father’s response, “Not being able to provide for my family.” This sums up my dad. He has worked hard his entire life to give us everything we needed. He continues to be my go to handyman, mechanic and all around ‘fix everything guy’. Thank you Dad for always being willing to help me out and always just being there for me. I love you!

For Father’s Day, we got my dad a new weed wacker….exciting, right? I also made him this rad candy card that I found on Pinterest:

I get my sweet tooth from my Pops!

I also celebrated today’s holiday with another father in my life, my husband! He is an amazing father to our son and I know he will continue to be a great dad to both our children throughout their lives. Roman and I had a little photo session for Rich and we made a picture that said, “One day, I hope to fill your shoes.” Naturally, I forgot to take pictures of Rich with Roman today….my pictures are slacking these days. Instead, please enjoy a few shots from Roman’s Father’s Day shoot:

Happy Father’s Day to all the great dads out there!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – just as I did with Mother’s Day, these were things that were already planned and therefore no extra expense.

 

Song of the Day:

Dad Life. Completely on point:

 

P.S. – Love it!

 

 

