Tags

, ,

June 13th Holiday

SEWING MACHINE DAY

As the title states, I do indeed have a sewing machine but that doesn’t necessarily mean I am a skilled sewer. Far from it. I think it has to do with my lack of patience with measuring and pinning everything precisely. Plus, I know how to basically use my sewing machine, but there sure are a lot of other bells and whistles on there that I have no clue what they do. I have used my sewing machine a few times in the past couple of weeks actually. I sewed a belt loop back onto Rich’s pants for him. That was an easy one. I also attempted, and subsequently failed miserably, at making a roman shade for Roman’s room. It was destined for failure before it even began. The fabric I bought was not wide enough so that pretty much set the stage for disaster. I still tried it though, even though I knew in the back of my mind it was not going to pan out. That all being said, I have a bunch of unused Cars fabric that I was looking to use for something else in Roman’s room. Today presented that opportunity. I cut a chunk of it off and set out to make a nifty (and EASY) throw pillow for my little munchkin:

Sewing away:

Now comes the stuffing, this part was messy:

The finished product:

While it was miles away from perfection, it does the trick. It only took me about 10 minutes to create too, so that was a bonus. Roman looked impressed with it for about 3 seconds and then he was over it. By the time I got the camera to take a picture, he was fully absorbed in watching truck videos on YouTube with Rich and wanted nothing to do with the pillow. Oh, the never-ending fickleness of toddlers….

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – already had all the supplies on hand.

Clip of the Day:

The Sewing Machine Song….yes, there is apparently a song:

 

P.S. – I’m pretty sure this lady is crazy.

