Tags

, , , ,

June 9th Holiday

BELMONT STAKES

Now for your racing update: After a highly anticipated run for the Triple Crown, I’ll Have Another was forced to scratch from the final race due to a minor injury:

I’ll Have Another was looking to become the first horse in 34 years to win the coveted Triple Crown. He will now go down in the history books as the first horse since 1936 to win the first 2 titles and then be unable to complete in the third and final leg. Instead, Union Rags was the big winner today:

The Belmont Stakes still prevailed despite the front-runner bowing out. Today’s race boasted the largest non-Triple Crown crowd in its history. Television ratings also spiked significantly from last year. So, good news all around…well, except for I’ll Have Another. Better luck next year, right?

I know nothing about horse racing, but there did seem to be a lot of anticipation about the possible Triple Crown this year. I, unfortunately, did not even get to watch the race. We do not have cable, therefore we have no media connection to the outside world. Just kidding, that’s what the internet is for! I’m sure I could have watched it live online, but Rich and I were spending some quality time painting instead. I know, that sounds so much better, doesn’t it? Congratulations to all the horseys, I hope you all get a nice long rest now.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

See? The internet has EVERYTHING!

 

P.S. – Wow, that actually got really intense at the end! If I hadn’t already known who was going to win I would have been really surprised!

