Tags

, , ,

June 6th Holiday

NATIONAL YO-YO DAY

Yo-yo’s are dangerous. Our cat, Roxy, found this out when Roman confiscated my yo-yo and pummeled her in her little head while he was swinging it around like a wild man. I did not witness this, but Rich told me about it. I then informed him that is probably the reason why it says ages 5+ on the package. Plus the fact that toddlers can wrap that string around their necks…yeah. I was into yo-yoing for about 8.26 seconds when I was a kid. I had a sweet purple yo-yo (naturally) and I attempted to learn some cool tricks. I could walk the dog and…..umm….walk the dog…..hmmm…..that was pretty much the extent of my skills. Sad to say, I have not mastered the yo-yo any better than I had when I was a kid:

I did attempt to see how many yo-yos (you know, a full up and down revolution…is that what you call it?) I could complete in one turn. I gave myself 3 solid attempts after a little practice. Can you guess how many I did? I will have one final contest and a spectacular (this is just for effect, it probably won’t be that thrilling) prize will be awarded to the person who guesses the closest without going over. I have a witness, Rich, who knows the final number so this will ensure there was no funny business going on. To be eligible to win, and you know you want to win, send your best guess via commenting on this post. The winner will be announced at the end of the month. C’mon, you know you want to play! It’s the LAST CHANCE you have to win a Happy Holiday Hayley prize! If that’s not incentive enough, I don’t know what is. 

Total Cost to Celebrate: $1.79 – I got the cheap yo-yo, yo.

Clip of the Day:

The aptly named Yo-Yo God:

P.S. – I admit, this guy is a little bit better than me. Give me a solid week of practice and I think I could be comparable.

