Tags

, , , , , ,

May 26th Holiday

INTERNATIONAL JAZZ DAY

I know absolutely nothing about Jazz music. When I think of Jazz I think of saxophones, smoky clubs and Kenny G. I also think of the weird Jazz Guy on Sex and the City….this shows you how little I know about it. So, for today’s holiday I did a little research and tried to find some of the best Jazz songs ever to give myself a mini education. The lists were all quite varied, as they are all random bloggers opinions. There were two songs that were always at the top, or close to the top:

“So What” – Miles Davis

“My Favorite Things” – John Coltrane

Okay, so I have heard of these dudes before. Let’s check out the songs:

While I definitely appreciate the artistry and the musicality, Jazz still is not something I can wholeheartedly get into. I did enjoy the snippets today. I wish I really was able to truly enjoy the music with a nice stiff drink…

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Clip of the Day:

Just in case you want to get your ‘jazz hands’ on while rocking out to some Coltrane:

P.S. – This guy…..I don’t even know what to say….

