May 17th Holiday

NATIONAL PACK RAT DAY

I thought for sure today’s holiday would involve cleaning of some sort. I figured it was a day to go through some old stuff you had packed away in your basement or attic and get rid of it. I was wrong. It is completely the opposite. In fact, the guidelines for today’s holiday are as follows:

  • Don’t clean your room, basement, garage or any other area today.
  • Don’t discard anything today…It may be valuable.
  • Don’t even empty the trash today. You might have accidentally thrown out something useful.
  • Do keep an eye out for useful stuff being discarded by others.
  • Do go to garage and rummage sales. They can be pack rat gold mines.
  • Do look around your belongings and be thankful for what you have.
  • Do spend time thinking of uses for your things. Justification for saving is satisfying.

Awwww, sweet! No cleaning?? I can totally do that! I didn’t feel the need to take any pictures today since you all have recently seen our life in boxes. Things are better since then, but we still have a long way to go. Today I actually was berated by my husband for overflowing our recycling bin, not taking the garbage out also leaving multiple half-full water bottles on our window sill. So, I have to say I did a pretty good job with celebrating today’s special day. I will NEVER get to hoarder status though, that show makes my skin crawl…

GRRRRRROOOOOSSSSSS!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Song of the Day:

I was going to be clever and use a Rat Pack song (get it) but then I found out it is Jordan Knight’s birthday today. For all you NKOTB fans, this will make you feel especially old….he turned 42 today…

P.S. – Speaking of being a pack rat, I still have my New Kids plastic cup that I got as a fundraiser prize in 5th grade…I use it regularly.

P.P.S. – Joey is still the best, don’t forget it!

