Tags

,

May 13th Holiday

MOTHER’S DAY

Mother’s Day is the one day every year to show your appreciation to your mom and all that she has done for you. Wait a second….ONE DAY??? Mothers should be honored every single day for all that they do. I mean, mothers are the strongest creatures on the planet. This is not an exaggeration, not at all. It is hard to understand everything that a mom goes through until you are one yourself. This is why men just don’t get it and never will. Women are innately stronger than men in a multitude of ways. Motherhood is at the top of that list. I’m not discounting being a father, but it is common knowledge that the moms take on much more of the child rearing responsibilities especially in the early months/years. It is in our DNA, it’s called motherly instinct. After I had Roman I felt like he was still very much connected to me for a long time. What I mean by this is that when he would cry in the middle of the night I would wake up because I could feel it in my bones and the pit of my stomach. That is the best way I can describe it. I am sure other mothers out there know the feeling I am talking about. Mothers have a connection to their children that no one else will ever have and that can never be taken away. Today I honor my own mother. Although I did see her at two separate times today, I completely forgot to take pictures (I was quite discombobulated from the busy Saturday prior). Luckily, she had a picture of us from the day before that I can use:

Grammy is in that one too, another fabulous mom. My mom and I are very close these days. We talk almost every day and she is always a great sounding board when I have questions or problems. We had our rough times too, as every mother and daughter does. I’m sure the teen years are not a fun time for any mom with her children….I’m not looking forward to those myself. My mom’s mother passed away when she was only 13 years old. Therefore, she did not have her mom around during the most difficult time of transitioning into womanhood. She raised me to be strong, independent, confident and always wanted the best for me. I learned a lot from my mother. I learned that it is important to be honest. I learned that hard work is the only way to get the things you want. I learned the value of a dollar (and the value of the clearance section!). I learned that you put family first. Thank you, Mom for all that you have done and all that you continue to do. You have made me the woman I am today. I love you!

My family also honored me on this special day. Roman and Rich got me some lovely flowers and cookies, yum! Rich always shows his appreciation for all that I do as a mom and he fully admits that he doesn’t know how we women do it. I honestly don’t know how I do it some days either. I can’t wait to see how crazy it gets with another little one on the way….

Thanks again to my mom for remembering to take this picture of Roman and I on Mother’s Day!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – yes, I did get my mom a gift but I do that every Mother’s Day so this is not a special expense.

 

 

Song of the Day:

Thank You, Mom by Good Charlotte:

P.S. – Happy Belated Mother’s Day to all you moms out there!

