Tags

, , ,

May 11th Holiday

TWILIGHT ZONE DAY

There is a fifth dimension beyond that which is known to man. It is a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity. It is the middle ground between light and shadow, between science and superstition, and it lies between the pit of man’s fears and the summit of his knowledge. This is the dimension of imagination. It is an area which we call the Twilight Zone.

Hayley has just undergone her eleventh plastic surgery treatment to restructure her deformed face. Eleven treatments is the maximum number legally allowed, so this is her last chance to finally fit in and look like everyone else:

She has begged the doctors and nurses (whose faces are cast in shadow) to remove her bandages early. She cannot stand the suspense. Now for the big reveal:

“It’s pretty bad, isn’t it? I know it’s pretty bad. Ever since I can remember… ever since I was a little girl…people have turned away from me. The very first thing I can remember is a little child screaming when she looked at me. I never wanted to be beautiful. I never wanted to look like a painting. I never even wanted to be loved. I just wanted… I just wanted people not to scream when they looked at me.”

Although to the audience she is beautiful, the doctors and nurses tell her the operation has failed and her face has undergone no change at all. Now for the inevitable twist:

Hayley runs through the halls of the hospital, distraught that her procedure has failed her and she will never look normal:

She sees the Leader on television preaching that, “Differences weaken us. Variations destroy us. An incredible permissiveness to deviation from this norm is what has ended nations and brought them to their knees. Conformity we must worship and hold sacred. Conformity is the key to survival.”

Distraught and viewed as an outcast, a man named George with Hayley’s same ‘condition’ comes to take her to the exiled village where others of her own kind reside:

There her ugliness will not trouble the State. To try to comfort her, George tells Hayley, “beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”

The End.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

Some of the actual Twilight Zone episode from which I drew my inspiration today:

 

P.S. – Yes, I did spend way too much time pasting my sad face over Stacy Kiebler’s….

