Tags

, , , ,

May 4th Holiday

NATIONAL FIREFIGHTERS DAY

As many of you know my husband, Rich, is a firefighter. He had asked me about doing a guest blogger post for a holiday and I figured this be the best possible one! Please enjoy his humorous take on today’s celebration.

My wife was looking forward to National Firefighters Day. I’ve been involved in the job in some capacity for a few years now so my wife knows a lot of firemen. She was confident that she would find a highly talented and brilliant firefighter to appear as a guest blogger on this holiday of holidays. To her disappointment, none of them were available so she reluctantly asked me to do it.

Believe it or not, my inspiration to pursue this career path came from the film, “Backdraft”. My friend John and I rented the movie one November evening in 2001. After approximately two hours the somewhat corny, but always awesome, movie came to an end and John turned to me and said, “I think we should be firemen”.  I, of course, agreed and I enrolled in the fire academy the next fall. The dream of fighting fire with Bull and Axe in th Fighting 17th seemed just too good to pass up. For anyone interested in pursuing a career as a fireman, I recommend you view the film before enrolling in the academy. The movie is pretty much a spot on depiction of a typical day at the firehouse for me. I can’t tell how many times in a fire that I’ve broken off the nozzle of a fire extinguisher and hurled the canister into a roaring wall of fire causing an intense explosion of carbon dioxide giving me just enough time to do a Pete Rose slide into a rogue 2.5 inch hose charged with 300 PSI and tame the beast single handedly. Not to mention the weekly axe fights with corrupt firemen in a burning hazardous materials environment on an unstable platform 200 feet above a lake of superheated liquid metal. Also, both of my children were conceived upon the hose bed on top of a fire engine.

In reality, I do love my job. I couldn’t be happier doing anything else in the world.  I never would have succeeded without the support of my loving and beautiful wife (brownie points plug). Also, I owe a great debt of gratitude to the senior firefighters and paramedics who read me the playbook of how to do the job properly. It is a high honor to be the one who people call when they are having their worst day and I don’t take that responsibility lightly. To all of you, thanks for reading and following my wife’s blog. If you see a firefighter today give them a hug. Or better yet a kiss on the mouth.

Thanks to all of the brave souls who dedicated their lives to the tradition of the brotherhood. And thank you LT RT, a great friend and the best teacher I’ve ever had.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Clip of the Day: 

So many great clips to choose from this academy award deserving film. The title of today’s blog is one of my favorite lines from the movie, but the scene it’s a part of may be a bit too gruesome. In its stead I chose another heroic but heartwarming scene when Bull’s brother goes from probie to pipeman and finally wins over the respect of his older, tough loving brother.

 

P.S. – Not only does that give me chills every time but there are tears streaming down my face.

