Tags

, , , ,

April 27th Holiday

ARBOR DAY

Today’s holiday is about trees. The most common way to celebrate Arbor Day is to plant a tree. Well, I wasn’t about to plant a sapling at our current house for fear of it not being cared for properly after we leave. We have nowhere to plant any other trees at our new house, there are trees all over the place on that property. So, I thought outside the box and came up with a way to honor trees in a more artistic fashion. I am going for a ‘nature/bird’ theme in our new bedroom. I had this idea to use some branches in the decor. I have this giant white vase that I knew would be perfect. Here is what it looked like before:

As you can see, it matched our current living room decor. I picked up some large branches that were lying around at our new house, there were quite a few to choose from. I bought some snazzy gold glitter spray to make them extra special:

I sprayed those sticks down and managed to get gold glitter all over the back of my house in the process. Hey, it makes it prettier! While I waited for the spray to dry I spent some time enjoying the last week in our house. Here is a picture of our nice tree we have in our backyard:

I will miss this house and this tree. I told Rich we should carve our names into it since this was our first home together. Is that defeating the purpose of Arbor Day? Defacing a tree? I think it is giving it more character. Anyhow, here is a really terrible picture of the final product:

Yes, it was outside still so you can’t see the glitter awesomeness. It actually turned out a little less gold than I was hoping, but I still like it. I hope that it looks good in our new room!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $6

Song of the Day:

Trees by Marty Casey….yep, the dude that was on Rockstar INXS. I love this jam!

 

P.S. – It’ll you and me, up in the TREES!

