Tags

, , , ,

April 26th Holiday

POEM IN YOUR POCKET DAY

Today’s holiday is to encourage the sharing and love of poetry. If you are carrying your favorite poem around in your pocket all day, you will have the opportunity to take it out and pass it on to others. Today was a not-so-fun day for me. It was our quarterly event we hold here at out office that I am not super keen on. I always will put on my happy face though and just grin and bear it. I looked for a poem specifically about patience. Patience was definitely something I needed today. I did not find anything that seemed suitable though. Most poems about patience are more like prayers and are targeted for much more serious trials and tribulations other than a crappy workday. I even looked for a funny one, but none of those fit either. I ended up picking a poem that I am rather fond of instead. I chose The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost:

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim

Because it was grassy and wanted wear,

Though as for that the passing there

Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I marked the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way

I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

I like this poem because it is short (this is a definite plus!), doesn’t include any fluffy overly poetic language and can be interpreted in many different ways. The poem is most commonly looked at as a commentary on making important life decisions. It is often misrepresented as a happy-go-lucky poem that concludes with the author regaling in the fact that he took the road less traveled and it led to his happiness and success. This is not accurate when you actually read the words thoroughly. He states that both roads look the same, therefore how does he know he is taking the road less traveled? The one truth in this poem that can clearly relate back to life is that once you start going down one road it is very hard, if not impossible, to turn back around and try that other road. It speaks to making a decision and then being stuck with it. The sigh in the poem is often up for debate as to if this is a happy sigh or a sad sigh. I read that most literary analysts have concluded that it is a sad sigh. Frost actually responded to a question about the sigh and explained, “It was my rather private jest at the expense of those who might think I would yet live to be sorry for the way I had taken in life.” Hmmm…..this just adds more confusion to the whole thing if you ask me! This is why poetry is so profound. In those 4 short stanzas, Frost has given us a piece of literature that will live on forever and continue to spark debate and personal interpretation.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

Robert Frost reading his poem:

 

P.S. –  Whatever road you take in life, enjoy the journey!

