Tags

, , , ,

April 22nd Holiday

EARTH DAY

Being kind to the Earth and learning to become more ‘green’ has become more and more popular in the past few years. Global warming, alternative fuels and renewable energy sources are all hot topics these days. With good reason too. Us humans are quite the wasteful species. I suppose I can even narrow that down to Americans specifically since we seem to be some of the worst offenders. I am not innocent, not by any stretch of the imagination. I am wasteful, I drive everywhere and I never really give it a second thought. To see how harmful I am actually being to our Mother Earth, I took this handy dandy little quiz I found to calculate my ecological footprint: http://www.earthday.org/footprint-calculator. The results were alarming, but not unexpected:

Yowza! I am wasteful, aren’t I? I see that the biggest area of my footprint is the Services section. This constitutes my electricity, gas and running water consumption. While I know I cannot live without those things, there are ways I can cut back. The site also gave me some suggestions on other ways I can reduce my own personal footprint:

Today I FINALLY purchased a reusuable grocery bag (I know I have my Betty Boop one from a previous holiday, but that one doesn’t hold that much stuff): 

I am proud to say that I actually used it today and plan on continuing this practice. While this seems like a small change, every little things counts these days. Remember – it’s not easy being GREEN!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0.99

Clip of the Day:

Earth Day Rap. How could this NOT be awesome?

P.S. – I’ve been schooled.

