Tags

, , , , ,

April 11th Holiday

INTERNATIONAL ‘LOUIE LOUIE’ DAY

Today’s holiday celebrates the ‘ultimate party song’.

I put that in quotes because I think that is up for debate. ‘Louie Louie’ is a great song, I’ll give it that at least. It’s probably played at most sporting events, weddings, and things of that sort. I wanted desperately to capture Dance Machine Roman breaking it down to this song to share with everyone, but alas, he wasn’t feeling it. I tried for two days. It looks like he is falling out of his dancing phase…this upsets me greatly. I hope it comes back soon, he was starting to get some pretty sweet moves. Instead, I will share the somewhat incoherent lyrics with all of you so you can finally sing the right words to this jam:

CHORUS:

Louie Louie, oh no Me gotta go Aye-yi-yi-yi, I said Louie Louie, oh baby Me gotta go

Fine little girl waits for me Catch a ship across the sea Sail that ship about, all alone Never know if I make it home

CHORUS

Three nights and days I sail the sea Think of girl, constantly On that ship, I dream she’s there I smell the rose in her hair.

CHORUS

Okay, let’s give it to ’em, right now!

GUITAR SOLO

See Jamaica, the moon above It won’t be long, me see me love Take her in my arms again Tell her I’ll never leave again

CHORUS

Let’s take it on outa here now Let’s go!!

After reading up on this song, I found out that back in the day there was a lot of controversy over the lyrics. Since they are hard to understand, there were rumors floating around that the song was obscene and filthy. This was proven to be untrue and the song lives on as the ‘ultimate party song’.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

Hmmmm….betcha can’t figure out what this will be:

P.S. – The Kingsmen look like a super happy group of dudes…they were enjoying their 15 minutes of fame greatly.

 

