Tags

, , ,

April 5th Holiday

National D.A.R.E. Day

D.A.R.E. to keep a kid off drugs

D.A.R.E. to keep a kid off dope

D.A.R.E. to give a kid some help

D.A.R.E. to give a kid some hope

Why don’t you help us?

You better believe I still remember the D.A.R.E. song. D.A.R.E. stands for Drug Abuse Resistance Education. Beginning in elementary school and going all through high school, D.A.R.E. was always a prominent program in my educational system. In fact, not to brag, I was one of the chosen ones that got to read my D.A.R.E. essay during our program graduation in sixth grade. That’s right, I am anti-drugs. I suppose D.A.R.E. worked for me considering I never became addicted to dope. I wanted to get a snazzy D.A.R.E. t-shirt to help celebrate today’s holiday. I looked around online and was surprised to see some people selling the standard D.A.R.E. shirt for $30+ bucks!

Seriously?? I guess it’s considered ‘vintage’ now so it is a hot commodity. They did have some for as cheap as $10 bucks, but I couldn’t justify spending that plus shipping for a shirt I should be able to pick up at any random thrift store. I also was going to sign Roman up to be in the Lucky Kat Klub that I found via the D.A.R.E. website. After viewing a long video on all the perks of being in the club, I come to find out it is $50 bucks. Wow, these D.A.R.E. peeps are really sponging kids for money to stay off drugs. I guess they figure if they aren’t spending their money on weed they have some funds to pay for the Lucky Kat Klub, huh? Instead of pumping money into today’s holiday I just told Roman that ‘crack is whack’ and to always remember to ‘say nope to dope’. Even after all my joking around, I do believe the D.A.R.E. program is a great thing. It is good to teach children from a young age about the dangers of tobacco, alcohol and drugs. I am a D.A.R.E. supporter….just not a monetary one.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

The *new* D.A.R.E. song:

 

P.S. – I like the old school song better.

