Tags

, , ,

April 1st Holiday

 APRIL FOOLS’ DAY

Ahhhh, yes. April Fools’ Day. The one day each year where everyone tries their best to pull pranks and fool their loved ones into believing outlandish stories. I have never been very good at this holiday. Mostly because I’m a terrible liar. I can never keep a straight face and it always gives me away. Plus, I can only think of horrible things to tell people and then it just turns into something much worse. You know, things like: I fell down the stairs (not so funny when you’re pregnant, huh?), Roman fell down the stairs (not so funny when it’s a baby, huh?), the cat ran outside and got hit by a car….I have a morbid mind sometimes. I guess I always want to go for shock value to get the biggest reaction possible. Then when the person finds out you are joking you just look like a complete jerk for even making that story up. So, instead of me trying to pull a prank this year I just waited for the #1 prankster to do the dirty work. My friend, Rachel, thrives on April Fools’ Day. Every year, without fail, she spends the entire day messing with everyone she knows. This year was no different. The funny thing is that I have not fallen for any of her pranks for a few years now, but she still tries her best. I even received a warning text from my friend, Sara, reminding me what day it was and not to get ensnared in Rachel’s mind games. Here is the exact transcript of Rachel and I’s text conversation from April Fools’ Day:

Rachel: Hi Ladies! So excited to share the news…in celebration of our condo closing Friday, Jared and I got a new puppy!!!!! A yellow lab…pictures to come soon!!!!

Me: Oh, Rachel….you’re going to have to try harder than that!

Rachel: I did get my first AZ ticket on the way to church today.

Me: Sure ya did.

Rachel: And saw a rattlesnake while going on a hike this morning – this one is for serious!!!!

Me: You know I don’t believe a word you say on this day!

As you can see, she is persistent with her lies. I told Sara that if something truly crazy ever happens to Rachel on April Fools’ Day, no one is going to believe her. Classic case of the boy who cried wolf! I know some people fell for her ploys though, someone always does. Rachel is better at this because she can think of harmless things that are not overly tragic. She just gets excited when people fall it. Rachel – thanks for the always entertaining April Fools’ Day. Even though I have been conditioned to expect your tricks, I still look forward to seeing what you come up with each year.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

3 Easy Pranks for April Fools’ Day. Between the weird robot voice and the obsession with baby powder, this video had me cracking up:

 

P.S. – Not sure if any of these are on my list to try next year….weird.

