Tags

, ,

March 25th Holiday

TOLKIEN READING DAY

March 25th, in The Lord of the Rings trilogy, marks the fall of Sauron. That is why this date was deemed Tolkien Reading Day back in 2003. As I mentioned on Hobbit Day, I am a big fan of The Lord of the Rings movies. I, however, have never read the books. Nor have I ever even attempted. I have not read The Hobbit either. I have always had an internal battle over whether it is better to read the book before or after seeing the movie. If you read the book afterwards, you already have a picture of what each character looks like and what is ‘supposed’ to happen. On the flip side, just as Rich stated about The Hunger Games, the books are almost always better than the movies. Therefore, if you read the book before seeing the movie you are setting yourself up for high expectations that may not always be able to deliver. Oh, what a conundrum. I have a feeling I will never commit to reading this trilogy though:

I did read about the different types of ‘peoples’ as Tolkien explained them in the back of the book. I felt I needed to read some Tolkien in order to fulfill my holiday celebration. I know just based on the movies that Tolkien had an incredible imagination and was a fabulous storyteller. His books are beloved by many and I believe his vision truly came to life in the outstanding movies. Maybe I should really read these books…it will probably be a few years before that happens.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Clip of the Day:

“How Lord of the Rings should have ended”:

 

P.S. – I had wondered why they didn’t use those eagles more often…

