GET OVER IT DAY

Today’s holiday is the day to GET OVER IT!! Whatever it is you have in your life that you like to complain about (don’t act like you are perfect and never grumble about anything), you need to let it go today. I like to complain about a lot of stuff. I think it’s just human nature to find fault even where there is none. Lately, I have been quite the grouch as you may have remembered from earlier in the month. There is waaaay too much change happening in my life at this moment in time and I don’t take too kindly to change. Instead of me droning on and on about my issues, I decided to GET OVER IT. This holiday was created by HumorHotlines.com. That’s right, they operate three separate hotlines: the “It Could Always Suck More” Hotline, the “Get Over It” Hotline and the “Get Over It Day” Explanation Hotline. Who is going to pay money to call a hotline to receive an explanation on how to get over it? I’m perplexed by that one. The other two sound quite humorous though. If I wasn’t afraid of being charged zillions of dollars, I would have liked to call one of them just to see what type of stuff they say to you. Tough love most likely, or maybe just complete ridicule about your meaningless stress over nothing. Either way, I’m sure you will get a laugh. A paid laugh, but a laugh nonetheless. If you go to the website: www.getoveritday.com, you can print a declaration of intent for today’s holiday. Here is mine: 

Rosa filled one out too (not as good of a pic since I had to use my crap camera at work): 

I also forced Rich to participate, I told him to GET OVER IT and deal with it: 

Oh, Rich. Always the comedian. To conclude the festivities of today’s holiday, here is the official Get Over It Day Poem:

http://www.getoveritday.com/images/graylogo.gif

NOBODY is happy, EVERY day of their life, Not an American Idol®, not a Desperate Housewife®, Not MVP athletes, not Oscar-winning stars, Not rich CEOs, not hot chicks at bars.

We ALL have our issues; ALL lives contain stress, At some point, we’re ALL an emotional mess, Ex-boyfriends, ex-girlfriends, ex-husbands, ex-wives, There are people to get over in EVERYONE’S lives.

But as much as things suck, as bad as they get, If you got cheated on, if you’re swimming in debt, If you’re aging or balding or get a cold sore, Don’t ever forget: It Could Always Suck More!

It’s all part of life; it will help you grow stronger, But this “pity party” of yours can’t last any longer, You can sit home alone, being sad and depressed, Or you can choose to be strong, and do as we suggest:

March 9th is the day, to finally say: “Move on! It’s done! It’s Get Over It Day!”

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Clip of the Day:

Get Over It Day on Sportscenter a few years ago:

 

P.S. – How many times do you think she says GET OVER IT??

