Tags

, ,

March 6th Holiday

 UNIQUE NAMES DAY

Today’s holiday celebrates unique names. I think this is a fun one. When I was pregnant the first time around one of the things that was very important to me was that our child have a unique name. Why? Well, because I didn’t want him or her to be one of eight kids with the same name in their class at school. Now, when I say unique I don’t mean something completely off the wall, just something that is not super common. Basically any names in the Top 100 list were automatically scratched from consideration. Sometimes it is hard to know what is going to become popular though. As I mentioned during The Name Game post, my name was not popular the year I was born. Then it blew up years later, so that goes to show you how easily these things can change. I am hoping that Roman does not catch on anytime soon, but you never know. Let’s discuss some of those names that we can be sure are going to remain unique and not become mainstream. What sector of people have a penchant for weird names? Celebrities! I guess they all feel like they need to punish their children for the rest of their lives for some reason. Here are some of the best ones:

Kyd: David Duchovny and Tea Leoni “Hey, we’re having a kid….let’s name him Kyd so we always remember he’s our kid.” I’m pretty sure that’s how the conversation went down.

Diva Muffin: Frank and Gail Zappa  – They also have children named Dweezil, Ahmet and Moon Unit. Wow.

Fifi Trixibell: Bob Geldof and Paula Yates  – Fifi is what I used to call our cat….nuff said.

Jermajesty: Jermaine Jackson and Alejandra Genevieve Oaziaza – Thank you, Jermajesty.

Kal-el: Nicholas Cage and Alice Kim – Nick Cage, your love of Superman was taken waaaaay too far with this one. What is wrong with Clark Kent?

Seven Sirius: Andre Benjamin and Erykah Badu – When I hear the name Seven I can’t help but think of George Costanza. (See Clip of the Day)

Moxie CrimeFighter: Penn and Emily Jillette  – I guess this kid’s occupation has already been chosen.

Pilot Inspektor: Jason Lee and Beth Riesgraf – They could have at least spelled Inspector right.

Zuma: Gwen Stefani and Gavin Rossdale – Oh, I love my Gavin, but Zuma is just bizarre.

Tabooger: Dan Cortese and Dee Dee Hemby – Any name with booger in it has to be an indicator that it’s not okay.

Audio Science: Shannyn Sossamon and Dallas Clayton – I don’t even know what to say on this one….seriously?

So, we can safely say these are all very unique names. I can also personally say that none of these are on our short list for this upcoming baby!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Clip of the Day:

As mentioned earlier, here is the Seinfeld clip:

 

P.S. – Maybe try Soda instead?

