Tags

, , , , , ,

FUN FACTS ABOUT NAMES DAY

Today begins an entire week of name related holidays. I chose to celebrate a few, but I also didn’t want to try to figure out how to write about names for a whole week. So, when there were other more exciting holidays available, I chose those instead. For today’s holiday I thought it would be fun to learn more about my name. I went to a meaning of names site and this is what I found:

Meaning of “Hayley”

In English, the name Hayley means- from the name haley. The name Hayley originated as an English name. The name Hayley is most often used as a girl name or female name.

Well then. That is real cool. I guess I need to look up Haley to find out more….

Meaning of “Haley”

In English, the name Haley means- hero. Other origins for the name Haley include – English, Irish. The name Haley is a unisex name and can be used for a boy or girl name (male or female).

Ooooh, hero. That is pretty sweet. I like how Hayley is a girl’s name but Haley can be used for a boy or a girl. Strange. Next was last names. Dege, not surprisingly, did not come up. I tried my maiden name:

Meaning of “Vert”

Vert Meaning:  dweller at or near a green place (a wood).

I could have guessed this one. Considering I was told my entire pre-marriage life that Vert means green in French. “Really? I’ve never heard that before!” (This became my standard response after about the 800th person presented this revelation to me.)

Since I wasn’t particularly satisfied with this website’s results, I ventured onto one more to see if it offered any additional insight:

HAYLEY

GENDER: Feminine

USAGE: English (Modern)

PRONOUNCED: HAY-lee   [key]

Meaning & History

From a surname which was originally derived from the name of an English town (meaning “hay clearing” from Old English heg “hay” and leah “clearing”). It was popularized by the British child actress Hayley Mills (1946-), though the name did not become common until over a decade after she first became famous.

I will have you all know that my mom got my name from Hayley Mills, so this is accurate! Back in 1982 my name was not super popular. I was the only Hayley all throughout my school days and I was very proud of that fact. Nowadays there are tons of little girls with the name Hayley, Haley, Hailey, Hayleigh, Haylee….you get the drift.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

A clip of the woman who provided my name inspiration on Good Morning Miss Bliss:

P.S. – Yes, this show was later changed and called….you guessed it, Saved By The Bell.

