Tags

, , , ,

March 1st Holiday

WITCH HYSTERIA DAY

On this day back in 1692, the Salem Witch Trials began. Martha Corey was the first target of the group of young girls that started the accusations. Over a period of several months, a witch hysteria set in. If you somehow managed to piss off the wrong person, you may have suddenly found yourself with a noose around your neck. I can only imagine the stress that was surrounding that community during this time period. One day you could be going along minding your own business, the next day you are on trial and a group of crazy girls are screaming and tearing their hair out and blaming it on you. How do you compete with that? I have read The Crucible at least twice and have seen the movie (the Daniel Day-Lewis/Winona Ryder version) multiple times. I read that Arthur Miller did not maintain historical accuracy, but I am willingly to bet that he captured the hysteria aspect fairly precisely. After it was all said and done: “Nineteen victims of the witch-hunt had been hanged, one crushed to death under the weight of stones and at least four died in prison awaiting trial.” This all happened within only 4 months…yikes. To embrace my own witchiness today, I pulled out my Halloween hat and put my best evil face forward: 

Can you hear my cackle? I can only imagine how many people would be accused of being witches in today’s day and age. Lady Gaga, anyone? She probably will take that as a compliment.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

In honor of my mom’s birthday today, here is a special song from another pal of mine who also celebrates his birthday on March 1st:

P.S. – Are you getting sick of my JB infatuation yet? Yeah…me neither.

 

