Tags

, , ,

LEAP YEAR DAY

Today is an extra special day because it only comes about once every 4 years. It’s Leap Year Day! A few things I learned about today’s holiday:

  1. The following famous people have been born on February 29th:

1468 – Pope Paul III (d. 1549)

1792 – Gioachino Rossini, Italian composer (William Tell, The Barber of Seville) (d. 1868)

1896 – Morarji Desai, former Indian prime minister (d. 1995)

1916 – Dinah Shore, American singer (d. 1994)

1924 – Al Rosen, American baseball player

1924 – Carlos Humberto Romero, former president of El Salvador

1960 – Anthony (Tony) Robbins, American motivational speaker

1964 – Lyndon Byers, Canadian hockey player

1972 – Antonio Sabàto Jr, Italian-born actor

1976 – Ja Rule, American rapper and actor

1980 – Chris Conley, American musician and songwriter/composer

Now do you get today’s blog title?

2.   My mom was born during a leap year and just missed a February 29th birthday by only mere hours. Her birthday is tomorrow, March 1st, instead.

3.   After doing some research I came to the realization that people who are paid salary vs. hourly sort of get screwed today. This is an extra day that we technically are not compensated for every 4 years. We should get an additional day’s worth of pay…but that’s just my own personal (greedy) opinion.

4.   Years that are evenly divisible by 100 are not leap years, unless they are also evenly divisible by 400, in which case they are leap years. Huh? All this math is making my brain hurt.

5.   In Ireland it is tradition that women are ‘allowed’ to propose marriage on leap day. I’m sure everyone remembers that totally spectacular Amy Adams movie, Leap Year, from a few years ago….or not…..

All interesting little factoids about today’s holiday. I celebrated by being as useless as possible at work today to make up for not getting paid. Just kidding…mostly. I also celebrated this extra day by spending some quality time with my friend, Rachel, who is moving to Arizona tomorrow. Sad but true, all my friends are abandoning Michigan one by one….booooo….Rachel, Sara and I enjoyed a tasty drink and some good conversation before wishing her bon voyage:

I will miss you Rae!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

The trailer from that mediocre romantic comedy I mentioned earlier:

 

P.S. – C’mon Amy, you know you’re better than this.

 

