Tags

, , ,

February 27th Holiday

POLAR BEAR DAY

I really wanted to go to the Detroit Zoo to see the polar bears to celebrate today’s holiday. For those of you who have not been there before, the Detroit Zoo has an amazing polar bear exhibit complete with an underwater tunnel. I was thisclose to venturing out on Sunday (since I had to work on the actual holiday, Monday) because it actually was semi-sunny outside. The temps didn’t crack 40 degrees though and it was quite windy. Those two factors kept us inside. Polar Bear Day is meant to raise awareness about the global warming trend. Because the Earth is heating up, polar bears’ natural environment is slowly depleting. I’m sure you have all seen those sad commercials on tv where the lone polar bear is on a teeny tiny ice block seemingly in the middle of nowhere:

I don’t like those commercials. I don’t like anything that has to do with animals looking sad. On the website for today’s holiday, it was suggested that the best way to celebrate is to lower your own carbon emissions. The easiest way to do this is to turn down your thermostat a couple degrees. Done and done! Since I had programmed our thermostat awhile back for another holiday, Monday was one of the days it was already turned down. Well would you look at that, one of my other holidays is helping out the polar bears. Yay! So, now I guess there is nothing left to do other than look at cute pictures of these cool bears:

I can’t wait for it to finally warm up so we can go to the zoo. It’s my favorite summer outing each year.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

Mama and baby cubs, first time out of the den:

 

P.S. – Can you get any cuter than that?? I think not.

 

