Tags

, , ,

February 8th Holiday

BOY SCOUT ANNIVERSARY DAY

I have unfortunately caught a wicked cold and have been very under the weather for the past few days. Therefore, you will not be seeing any pictures of me in the next couple posts, I don’t want to scare people away! For Boy Scout Anniversary Day I will reflect on the things I learned from the Boy Scouts. Yes, that is correct I said BOY Scouts not Girl Scouts. I was a Brownie for about a year in 1st grade, it wasn’t for me. My brother, however, was a Cub Scout for a few years. I must say, the Boy Scouts do a lot more fun stuff. Living vicariously through my bro, I learned right along with him how to do many manly things. Such as, how to tie a necktie. This has actually come in handy in my adult life. I also basically learned how to build a Pinewood Derby car by watching my dad and brother. This has not helped me later in life. I guess I just haven’t come across a situation in which I need to mold a block of wood into a racecar. Maybe someday though, you never know. I am sure everyone has heard the Boy Scout motto too – Be Prepared. Always carry a Swiss Army Knife and know how to start a fire from scratch and battle bears. Okay, I added that bear part, but it seems pretty important if you are out in the woods as Scouts tend to be. Here are some of the other things that Scouts live by:

Scout Oath

On my honor, I will do my best To do my duty to God and my country; To obey the Scout Law; To help other people at all times; To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake and morally straight.

Scout Law

A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

Scout Motto

Be Prepared

Scout Slogan

Do a good turn daily

Outdoor Code

As an American, I will do my best, to be clean in my outdoor manners, to be careful with fire, to be considerate in the outdoors, and to be conservation minded

Well, it seems like Scouts are raised to be good guys. Just don’t go out to the woods with the creepy Scoutmaster by yourself….

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

Boy Scout Rap – highly amusing:

 

P.S. – Ha! They DO talk about escaping from bears!

