Tags

, , , ,

January 13th Holiday

FRIDAY THE 13TH

Ooooh, my first Friday the 13th celebration. What do you think of when you hear it’s Friday the 13th? Those awesomely bad slasher movies, of course! I don’t even know how many of those debacles have been made at this point. I mean, how many times can you kill Jason? I suppose he’s immortal or something. I don’t really know all the ins and outs since I’m not an avid fan of those flicks. I have seen a few here and there. It’s funny when you watch the original how incredibly cheesy the whole thing is now. I have a memory of my dad renting one of the various Friday the 13th movies when it was just me, him and my brother. He promptly stopped it when some chick was getting cut to bits mid-coitus. He decided it wasn’t entirely appropriate for our kiddie eyes. Good job, Dad. Thank you for preventing permanent emotional scarring there. To celebrate today’s holiday, I harnessed the power of Jason:

Pretty freaky, right? Putting that mask on made me feel like I needed to go chop up some irresponsible teenagers….or not. I guess I don’t have the homicidal gene in me after all.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – I simply printed a picture of the infamous mask to use.

RUBBER DUCKIE DAY

Those who have known me for a while know that I used to have real thing for ducks. It started sometime around middle school, early high school when it came about that I either sounded like or looked like Ducky from Land Before Time:

See any resemblance here? I know that Ducky is obviously not a duck, she is a dinosaur, but this is where the duck obsession originated. It turned into actual ducks and that sort of became my thing. I have a large number of rubber duckies strewn about my house. Since Roman came along, he has acquired most of them. To celebrate this holiday, I took one of my favorite ducks to work with me today. I neglected to take a picture, but believe me it happened. To make up for it I took this one later after I got home:

I also sang Roman the Rubber Duckie Song while he was in the bathtub. He listened intently as he chewed apart one of his little ducky pals.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

The final scene of the first Friday the 13th:

 

P.S. – HE’S STILL THERE!!!!

