Tags

, , ,

January 7th Holiday

HARLEM GLOBETROTTERS DAY

Did you know that the Harlem Globetrotters have been in existence since 1926?

I didn’t realize they had been around that long. I really never fully understood the purpose of the Harlem Globtrotters. Were they supposed to be a real basketball team or a comedy show? After reading about them, I’m still not entirely sure. The people who have been on the team are all very talented. Big names such as Magic Johnson and Wilt Chamberlain are HG alumni. They have also had many women on the team, as well as a one-armed b-ball player who averaged 18 points a game. Although they are named the Harlem Globetrotters they did not play in Harlem until 1968. Then they did not play there again until 1987. I am not sure of the reason behind that, but I can be sure that the Harlem Globetrotters have brought happiness and joy to all that have seen them. They are talented not only in basketball, but in entertaining the masses. They also do tons of charity work and travel around the world to spread their good cheer to both children and adults alike.

I have never had the pleasure of seeing them in person. They are always on tour somewhere, but currently the only tickets they have available are in Miami. Not that I wouldn’t mind going to Miami, but that’s a little out of the realm of possibility right now. As an extra added bonus for today’s holiday, I thought I would share these crazy pictures of Rich from a couple of summers ago. We were getting rid of our basketball hoop (because we never played with it) and Rich decided he wanted to do an impromptu photo shoot…..enjoy:

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

The Harlem Globetrotters themselves!

 

P.S. – Oh man, after watching this video I will make a point to take Roman to see them if they come to Detroit. So fun!

