Tags

, , ,

January 4th Holiday

POP MUSIC CHART DAY

Pop, pop, POP MUSIC! What exactly qualifies as pop music? I have always wondered this but never had the gumption to look into it. Today I went on the all-knowing Wikipedia and got a teeny bit of clarification. Basically pop music is popular music that is thought of as a genre that appeals to a mass audience. It also said that pop songs are intended to encourage dancing, are typically between two and a half and three and a half minutes in length and are generally marked by a noticeable rhythmic element. Okay then, I think I feel reasonably confident that I can accurately classify pop music now. For today’s holiday I decided to do what I suppose anyone would do on Pop Music Chart Day….I checked out the Billboard Pop Music Chart for this week. Here are the current top 10 most overplayed….err…I mean…pop songs in the country:

1

We Found Love

Rihanna Featuring Calvin Harris

2

It Will Rain

Bruno Mars

3

The One That Got Away

Katy Perry

4

Sexy And I Know It

LMFAO

5

Good Feeling

Flo Rida

6

Without You

David Guetta featuring Usher

7

Stereo Hearts

Gym Class Heroes Featuring Adam Levine

8

Love You Like A Love Song

Selena Gomez & The Scene

9

Moves Like Jagger

Maroon 5 featuring Christina Aguilera

10

Someone Like You

Adele

Yep, overplayed should be interchangeable with pop in this case. I will admit that I have 2 of these songs in my ipod. Can you guess which ones?? To further add to today’s holiday excitement, I took a peek at the pop chart from 10 years ago. I cannot believe that 2002 was TEN years ago now….geez oh man I’m old:

1

How You Remind Me

Nickelback

2

Get The Party Started

Pink

 3

Family Affair

Mary J. Blige

 4

Hero

Enrique Iglesias

 5

U Got It Bad

Usher

 6

Whenever, Wherever

Shakira

 7

I Do!!

Toya

 8

Livin’ It Up

Ja Rule Featuring Case

9

Turn Off The Light

Nelly Furtado

 10

Where You Will Go

The Calling

 

I have no clue what that Toya song is, does anyone remember that one? Oh wait, I just listened to it and it all came flooding back to me….total Canadia song! I guess it’s nice to see that Usher has some lasting power, although he is just featured in this week’s top ten rather than being the headliner. Now for the old verses new pop music faceoff challenge! I took the top 5 songs from this week in 2012 and 2002 and pitted them against each other. Vote now for your favorite and we shall see who reigns supreme….old or new? If you don’t know the song, YouTube it. I guarantee you have heard it before, all of these tunes are impossible to escape.

It only takes a few seconds to vote and you don’t have to input your e-mail or any of your info, totally anonymous!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

Well, what did you think I was gonna use? The #1 pop song this week, duh!

 

P.S. – This is one of the two songs that is on my ipod.

