Tags

, , ,

DRINKING STRAW DAY

Well, this is an interesting holiday. Drinking straws have become so awesome they get their own special day. Instead of me just drinking from a straw all day, I looked for a way to celebrate that was a little out of the box. I found this fun tutorial on making a unique work of art with straws. It was easy and I was actually pretty impressed with my results. Here are the supplies that were needed: paper, paint and paintbrush (or you can use food coloring), water and of course, straws!

I think you are supposed to use watercolors with this project, but I just simply doused my paint with tons of water to make it more blowable. Blowable, yes…blowable. Put a line, dot or smear of watery paint on your paper and blow away:

It was cool to see where the colors went depending on the force I used. I would have done more, but I had an angry baby trying to take over my artistic endeavor. Here is the finished product:

I have aptly named it, Under the Sea. Doesn’t it look like jellyfish and coral? I think so. This will be a really fun art project to do with the kiddo when he gets older. For now, he was just happy running around with the straws tightly clutched in his little fists:

Paint and Roman?? Not so much….

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 already had all the supplies!

Clip of the Day:

OMG, this is hilarious! For all of you super straw connoisseurs out there:

 

P.S. – Okay, how foamy would your beer be if you drank it through a straw with 12 different bends in it? Ick.

