Tags

, ,

December 16th Holiday

UNDERDOG DAY

Today’s holiday is about all the unsung heroes. The underdogs of the world. I vaguely remember the cartoon, Underdog:

Do you remember what his regular profession was? He was Shoeshine Boy….sounds pretty demeaning if you ask me. Underdogs are also very prevalent in sports. For today’s holiday, I looked up the NHL games that were being played and decided to root for the underdog of each match-up based on their current records. Since I am writing this after the fact, I can now report if the underdogs were the victors or not. The underdogs are in red:

Toronto vs. Buffalo

WIN

Pittsburgh vs. Ottawa

WIN

Calgary vs. Florida

LOSS

Dallas vs. New Jersey

WIN

Anaheim vs. Chicago

LOSS

Well, 3 out of 5 ain’t bad. Calgary actually lost in a shootout, so they were thisclose to winning. The underdogs were essentially victorious today. I like rooting for the team that isn’t expected to win. Redemption!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

The Underdog cartoon intro:

 

P.S. – I think Underdog is pretty cute…..for a pear shape.

