Tags

, , ,

WRIGHT BROTHERS DAY

One of the things I love about living near a major metropolis is that there are tons of historic sites, museums and amazing attractions within mere minutes of my homestead. Today marks the anniversary of the first successful flight by the Wright Brothers in 1903. I celebrated by taking the short 20 minute car ride down to The Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn. There is a replica of the Wright Brothers flyer there, and it is pretty sweet. Here are some of my pictures:

The Wright Brothers worked hard to achieve their dreams. Their accomplishment, however, was met with a lot of criticism. I will not get into all of that today, but it just goes to show you that any worthwhile feat is not without controversy. It was cool to see the replica flyer. I can tell you that I would not have wanted to be the one strapped into that baby during its first flight…scary! I had a great time taking Roman to the museum, although it was extremely exhausting. I seriously got a good 90 minutes of cardio chasing that kid around. He’s quick and chooses to ignore the word ‘no’. I am happy that I have all of these wonderful places to take him so close to home. This blog is giving me a reason to visit a lot of destinations, I can’t wait to see where it takes me next.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $18 – Admission is $15 bucks but I had a $2 coupon…but then they charge you $5 dollars for parking…bummer.

Clip of the Day:

The Wright Brothers in Flight:

 

P.S. – This is some old school stuff right here.

