Tags

, , ,

DEWEY DECIMAL DAY

I seem to recall learning about the Dewey Decimal System a long time ago in elementary school. I, of course, have retained 0% of that knowledge. So, I used the super cool internet to check it out. Here is how all non-fiction books are classified according to the Dewey Decimal System:

  • 000 – Computer science, information and general works
  • 100 – Philosophy and psychology
  • 200 – Religion
  • 300 – Social sciences
  • 400 – Language
  • 500 – Science (including mathematics)
  • 600 – Technology and applied Science
  • 700 – Arts and recreation
  • 800 – Literature
  • 900 – History and geography

I will probably not remember any of this after I finish writing this blog post. Apparently my brain doesn’t have any room left to retain this info. Whenever I go to a library I use the computer to look up what I’m looking for anyhow. Yes, we are the lazy generation. I do remember learning how to use the card catalog in school. I don’t even know if they have those things at libraries anymore to be completely honest. To celebrate today’s holiday, I visited a local library to check out the Dewey Decimal System firsthand:

Why did I go to the Westland library? Well, because I have Rich’s old Westland library card. I used to have a Livonia card, but they caught me one day when they needed to verify my info. I have not lived in Livonia for about 9 years or so. I have a Farmington Hills card, but I had to basically beg them for that one. I had to bring in paycheck stubs to prove that I worked within the city. Do you see the glaring omission here? I do not have a Garden City library card. The city I live in. The city I have lived in for over 5 years. I am not sure why I have never gotten one. I even voted to keep the library around during the election this year! I was actually going to go and get one for today’s holiday, but they closed at 2pm and I missed the boat. So, Westland it is. Here are some (blurry) Dewey Decimal numbers up close and personal:

I stumbled upon this gem and almost had an anxiety attack thinking about this:

Oh dear. I think it is better than the Teenage Girls though, I was one of those and boy are they terrible! The moment of truth came when I crossed my fingers and hoped that Rich’s 10 year old library card still had some life left in it:

Busted! I didn’t get to check out my books. Bummer. I really need to get a GC card…

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

The Dewey Decimal Rap. Oh, this has got to be good:

 

P.S. – Is this guy trying to rip off Eminem?

