Tags

, , , ,

NATIONAL FLOSSING DAY

Floss ’em, floss ’em, floss ’em! Keep your pearly whites bright! I will admit that I am not the best at keeping up on my flossing. I pretty much always get ‘the lecture’ at the dentist…boooo. Today I did remember though, because it’s a holiday! Here is the official proclamation about National Flossing Day:

Whereas, This Nation will once again have spent a full day focused on food, on Thanksgiving Day, November 24, And scientific research indicates that it behooves each of us to floss after meals, Therefore, It is befitting and proper that the following day, November 25, 2011 be celebrated as:

National Flossing Day

During that day each and every person is encouraged to consider the role flossing has played in his or her life during the previous year, and to celebrate flossing so they can Help Spread “Peace of Mouth” in their own lives and the lives of others around them, in ways with and without floss. All citizens are encouraged to search for ways to experience the JOY OF FLOSSING and thereby move beyond negative reasons to floss. On this special day, our children should also be made aware of the richness and health that flossing can bring to life. Be this day so proclaimed in the name of all the Volunteers who have devoted time to the work of the National Flossing Council and to help Spread “Peace of Mouth!”

Armand Lione, President, National Flossing Council

Washington, DC

www.flossing.org

The Joy of Flossing, huh? I guess I do feel good about myself when I floss, I know I am doing a good thing. This proclamation is pretty intense though, these people are serious about dental hygiene! Here I am participating in the holiday:

As you can probably deduce from this photo, I had today off work. Yep, never made it out of my pajamas. No crazy shopping for me today…only flossing!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

SINKIE DAY

Are you a Sinkie?? I don’t know if I would classify myself as the most obvious definition of the term, but maybe as some of the less obvious ways of defining it. Are you all wondering what a Sinkie is?? A Sinkie is someone who eats a meal or snack over their sink. Sinkie Day is always the day after Thanksgiving, perfect for indulging in some leftovers over your kitchen sink. A Sinkie can also be someone who eats while perusing through the fridge, chows down while driving in their car or drinking milk straight from the carton. Ahh, Sinkies can unite today! Eat proudly over your sink, enjoy your leftovers. Rich and I had a mini-meal this morning over our sink:

I had just gotten out of the shower, hence the crazy wet hair. There is nothing better than Thanksgiving leftovers, they are the greatest. Although, I have to make the argument that turkey is the least successful second day meal. It always seems to dry out and not taste so great. Everything else though, delish!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

 Clip of the Day:

I immediately thought of the dental floss scene in Pretty Woman. Unfortunately, the only clip I found of it is not that high quality. BUT, it is the Floscar Awards clip! There are six, yes SIX, movies that feature flossing!

 

P.S. – Julia’s right, you shouldn’t neglect your gums.

