Tags

, , , ,

November 19th Holidays

NATIONAL DAY OF PLAY

I couldn’t find too much info about today’s holiday, so I just figured out how to celebrate on my own. I took this day to do something that desperately needed to be done over here at the Dege household: reorganize Roman’s toys. Let me rephrase that: organize Roman’s toys. I told myself when I was pregnant that I didn’t want my house to turn into a baby’s playland. Everyone laughed at me and said good luck. Well, they were all right. It’s currently kid central smack dab in my living room. I was not using our space very well so I decided to change that today. I cleared the way to our bookshelf that was being totally underused and repurposed it for the zillions of toys that are scattered about the house. Take a look:

Ahhhh, it always feels good to clean something up. Roman was pretty impressed too:

Now some obligatory pics of the cutest baby in the world celebrating National Day of Play:

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

WORLD TOILET DAY

World Toilet Day is not what I expected it to be. I thought it was another one of these silly holidays where we celebrate something random and funny. I was mistaken. This holiday has a real cause behind it. The purpose of WTD is to bring awareness to the fact that millions of people all over the world do not have proper sanitation and therefore are dealing with a variety of health issues:

Not gonna lie, having a sanitary toilet available to me at all times never seemed like it was that big of deal. It’s one of those luxuries that I never really appreciated. For today’s holiday, I thought about how difficult it would be to live in a different part of the world, to be in a different situation and to face unimaginable crises because of the seemingly small issue of sanitation. Heck, I can’t even stand to go camping for a night and that’s even when I have access to a Port-a-Potty. Epiphanies like this make me appreciate my lot in life much more than I normally do. I even took a picture of our wonderful toilet to show my appreciation (disregard the stack of bathtime toys, I haven’t gotten in there to organize those just yet):

Oh toilet, you are there for me always. When I feel good, and especially when I feel bad. I have not shown you the proper respect and gratitude for everything you do. I love you, toilet. Thanks for always being there for me.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Clip of the Day:

The World Toilet Day Official Song…that’s right, there’s a song:

 

P.S. – Well, that was one of the strangest things I’ve ever seen in my life….

 

 

