Tags

, , ,

GUINNESS WORLD RECORD DAY

I don’t know about anyone else, but I used to be obsessed with the Guinness World Record books. I was utterly fascinated by all the strangeness within those pages. I had a flashback to my youth when I went on the GWR website for today’s holiday. Let me tell you, there are some crazy people in this world. I wanted to post some of the pictures on here, but the site is making it difficult. Instead I will just let you all know some of the more interesting records that I found:

  • Most Albino Siblings (4)
  • Loudest Purr by a Domestic Cat (86.3 dB)
  • Fastest Time to Enter a Suitcase (5.43 seconds)
  • Most Expensive Fungus Species (the White Truffle)
  • Heaviest Weight Lifted by Nipples (70.5 pounds)
  • Largest Collection of Sick Bags (6,016 from 1,142 different airlines)
  • Most Chainsaw Juggling Catches (88)
  • Oldest Male Stripper (66 – he started his stripping career at age 60)
  • Fastest Mile on Pogo Stick Whilst Juggling 3 Balls (28 minutes, 23 seconds)
  • Most Toilet Seats Broken by the Head in One Minute (46)
  • Most Knives Thrown Around a Human Target in One Minute (104)

I didn’t make any of these up. Seriously, if you get some free time go to the GWR website. It will blow your mind, To actively participate in today’s holiday I found a record that I can take a part in myself. Reddit is attempting to break the record for the World’s Largest Secret Santa. All you have to do is create an account and sign up by November 25th and then you will get a match. You have to use your super sleuth skills to figure out what your secret santa match likes and then send them a gift by December 12th. Sounds fun, right? Do you want to participate too? Yes! Follow this link to sign up:

http://redditgifts.com?inv=QCC

You never know, I could end up being YOUR secret santa!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 so far

HOMEMADE BREAD DAY

Bread, carbs, good. Rich and I have a bread maker thanks to my mom not wanting hers anymore. We actually use it semi-frequently…and by semi-frequently I mean once every six months or so. I don’t really know why I’m mentioning the bread maker because I didn’t use it today. Good story, huh? Instead I thought it would be a special treat to make some homemade cornbread. I have made this in the past and it turned out really yummy. I cut some corners today and chose to use the Quick Cornbread recipe on the back of the cornmeal. Why not, right? I’m sure it will taste the same as the super fancy recipe we got from that really nice restaurant…..suuuurre. I mixed it up and was a little perplexed by the consistency. No bother, it will turn out just fine. Ding! 20 minutes later, the masterpiece emerges. I thought the color was a little off, but hey, I’m sure it will taste great either way:

I cut off a hunk and took a big bite. Yep, as you may have predicted by my tone here, it was just plain yuck. The taste and the consistency were both terrible. I double checked the recipe and found that I didn’t screw anything up. Rich tried it and his face was priceless, I really wish I would have gotten a picture. Even though I told him it was gross, he still for some reason didn’t want to offend me and tried to hide his disgust. He suggested trying to cook it more….no luck. Homemade bread day was not a total failure….at least the birds and bunnies in our backyard will get a treat tonight!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – had all the non-special ingredients already

Clip of the Day:

Joe Hill, a London-based 3D artist, attempts to create the largest 3D painting EVER for GWR Day. I am amazed by this type of artwork so this was cool to watch:

 

P.S. – Worse job – the human that has knives thrown at them or the GWR employee that has to go and verify the Oldest Male Stripper? Hmmmm…..

 

