Tags

, , ,

WORLD KINDNESS DAY

I strongly believe that if every human on this planet followed one simple rule, there would be genuine peace on earth:

It’s so easy, yet so difficult to live up to. I struggle following this each and every day, but I strive to do my best. Today I tried a little harder than usual to celebrate today’s holiday. I am currently reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and she does something in her adventure that I tested out today. It is called “extreme nice”. She did this for one full week with her husband and it almost made me cringe when I thought about how hard it must have been. That sounds bad, I know, but in any long-term relationship there is the usual nagging and bickering that is completely normal. I admit, I am a nag…mostly to Rich. It is easy to take out your frustrations on those closest to you, so of course your spouse is going to get the worst of it. Today I practiced the art of biting my tongue. It may sound like a simple thing, but I suppose I didn’t realize how often I say unnecessary not so nice things just out of habit. I handled myself a little better today. When Rich told me first thing this morning that he was going to be responding to firefighting calls all day, I said okay. Nothing more. When he asked if he could go to a bachelor party next Saturday, I said sure. Nothing more. I did lose my cool for a second when he began lecturing me about the oven temperature, but I think I reigned myself in pretty good. One of the best marriage quotes is by Harlan Miller, “Often the difference between a successful marriage and a mediocre one consists of leaving about three or four things a day unsaid.” So true. I decided that Kindness Day should be focused on being as kind as possible to the one person in my life I should be the kindest to everyday. I even went out to Farmington Hills to have dinner with my hubby this evening (even thought I thought he was coming home for that). No biggie. We had a nice dinner and left an extra kind tip to our server for putting up with our crazy baby. Kindness travels quick. Whether it’s smiling at strangers or leaving things left unsaid, it all counts. Be nice….to everyone!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

100 Kind Acts in 100 Minutes. I thought this was really cool. It shows how everyone can make a difference and that kindness is contagious:

 

P.S. – Thanks Rich for putting up with me on all my non-extreme nice days….you’re the bestest.

