Tags

, ,

VETERANS DAY

Veterans Day is always on November 11th and most Veterans Day celebrations commence at 11am. Instead of me trying to explain the significance of this time and date in my own words, here is the official statement:

“World War I – known at the time as “The Great War” – officially ended when the Treaty of Versailles was signed on June 28, 1919, in the Palace of Versailles outside the town of Versailles, France. However, fighting ceased seven months earlier when an armistice, or temporary cessation of hostilities, between the Allied nations and Germany went into effect on the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month. For that reason, November 11, 1918, is generally regarded as the end of “the war to end all wars.”

To celebrate today’s holiday I really wanted to go to a Veterans Day event. Unfortunately, I still had to work….boo. I searched around to see if anything was going on in the vicinity of my workplace and I found an event nearby. After looking into it, I realized it was only for seniors “50 or better”. Too bad, I didn’t fit the demographic. To celebrate on my own, I observed 2 minutes of silence at 11am in honor of all those that have served our country and all of those that are still in active service. I truly dedicated that time to giving thanks and just sending out positive thoughts to all the vets and active military out there. Later on, this Living Social deal popped up and I took advantage of it:

http://livingsocial.com/deals/166281-15-toward-a-care-package-for-us-troops-+-flag

It’s a half off deal to send care packages to troops overseas. Can’t get better than that, donating and having your money doubled! Bonus! The deal is good for 8 more days too, in case you were interested in purchasing. My sister-in-law, Marilyn, also sent me this list of organizations that accept donations for veterans:

I figured this would be a good opportunity to share some of our pictures from our recent trip to DC. They have beautiful monuments dedicated to all the American soldiers:

Thank you from the bottom of my heart to all the veterans out there. You fought for our freedom and we are forever thankful for your courage and dedication to this country.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $15

Clip of the Day:

Veterans Day 2011 – Freedom Isn’t Free:

P.S. – Thank you….I really cannot say that enough.

 

