Tags

, , , ,

COOK SOMETHING BOLD DAY

Cook something bold today. Bold is sort of an open-ended word in this situation. Bold tasting, I’m assuming is what they mean. You could be bold just by cooking something new and exciting too. I chose to participate being bold in both ways. I went to my handy-dandy All Recipes app and searched for BOLD recipes. I got a lot of hits, apparently everyone thinks their recipes are just going to throw a dance party on your taste buds. I settled on something that was different from anything I have ever made and included some interesting ingredients. It is called Chicken Puttanesca and it has chicken, tomatoes, garlic  and these items in it:

The scariest is the anchovy paste. I’m a little distraught that the slogan on the box states, “Delicacies that you will roll under your tongue.” Is that supposed to be enticing? I’m grossed out. I don’t really like to roll food around my mouth, especially anchovy paste. All I could think about with this stuff is how it comes in a tube like toothpaste….do you see where I am going with this? Eww. Anyhow, I cooked up the meal and here is the finished product:

I am obviously not a food photographer. It seems like whenever I post pictures of food it looks like something I regurgitated. Yummy, huh? It was actually pretty good. Definitely something new, exciting and most importantly BOLD!!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $9

 

ELECTION DAY

I know I mentioned in a past post that I do not typically vote in the non-presidential elections. I made a point to go and vote today though. Mainly for the purposes of celebrating the holiday, but also because I know it is my right and I should exercise it. Roman and I took a walk up to my polling place this afternoon. Luckily, it was an absolutely beautiful day here in Garden City, 60 degrees and sunny. Not bad for November! There were only 3 things on the ballot here: Mayor, City Council and one Millage Proposal. There was only one option for Mayor, the incumbent Randy Walker. Well, unless you wanted to write someone in. I thought it may be funny for a split second to vote for myself, but then I realized that would just be a slap in the face to everyone that really takes those positions seriously. I voted yes on the library millage. I think it is important for every city to have a public library so I don’t mind taking the minor hit on our property taxes. I was the 169th person to vote in my precinct today:

I got my sticker to prove it! I hope that you all took a few minutes out of your day to let your voice be heard for your respective cities. Next year will be a little more exciting, can’t wait for the slanderous presidential commercials to start running soon!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

Against Me! Rocks the Vote:

P.S. – This one is for you, Richie Rich.

