Tags

, , ,

CLICHÉ DAY

When I looked up the exact meaning of cliché, I got a little befuddled. Apparently cliché can mean many different things nowadays. Originally it was, and still is, “an expression, idea, or element of an artistic work which has been overused to the point of losing its original meaning or effect, rendering it a stereotype.” Right, right this all makes sense. It has also taken on other meanings such as, “an action or idea which is expected or predictable, based on prior events.” Okay, I get that too…but wait, there’s more! “Clichés are not always false or inaccurate and they may or may not be true.” Hmmm…getting a little more fuzzy now…. Sooooo, basically what I have learned today is that the whole idea of a cliché is now in fact, a cliché. Right? The word cliché was overused so much it lost its original meaning!! Eeek! I can’t wrap my head around this! Next, let’s define the word irony…Just kidding. I do find it quite funny to learn about the evolution of this word and concept. I have always adhered to the modern definition more than the original meaning. To honor today’s holiday, I found a list of some of the best cliché expressions. I myself have been known to use some of these on occasion. I picked one that began with each letter of the alphabet (well, except X):

Absence makes the heart grow fonder

Barking up the wrong tree

Compare apples to apples

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t

Every dog has his day

Fair weather fan

Got off on the wrong foot

Here today, gone tomorrow

I need that like I need a hole in my head

Jump in with both feet

Keeping up with the Joneses

Last, but not least

Money doesn’t grow on trees

Nice guys finish last

On pins and needles

Push the envelope

Quicker than a New York minute

Raining cats and dogs

Take the bull by the horns

Ugly as sin

Variety is the spice of life

Waiting for the other shoe to drop

You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink

Zip your lip

That’s a wrap!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

SANDWICH DAY

Sandwiches are mainly viewed as your standard lunchtime fare. I like me a sandwich every now and then, but I’m typically too lazy to make my own and take it to work. I probably should just get all the fixings and keep them in my office. That would be what a smart person who likes to eat healthy and save money would do, not me though. Today was different. I took the initiative and made myself a delicious sandwich to enjoy for lunch: 

I went with oven roasted chicken lunchmeat, muenster cheese, mayo and New York style mustard. Perfection. Muenster cheese? What’s that all about? Honestly, I don’t have a good answer for you. I picked it up awhile ago and never looked back. It pairs delightfully with cold cuts, for real, you should try it. I will spare you all from a picture of me actually consuming my lunch. I know you don’t need to see me eating anything ever again in this blog. I’m not making any promises though! I will not, however, save you from seeing little Roman tasting his PB&J Uncrustables: 

I can’t figure out if he likes these or not yet, he’s still on the fence I think. Since sandwiches are ubiquitous in our world and there are so many different varieties, I thought this would be the ideal opportunity for this month’s poll, yay! Nationwide surveys indicate that America’s favorite sandwich is the turkey sandwich, do you concur or are you a rebel? Let’s find out:

I know there are dozens of other sandwiches out there but I had to cut it off somewhere. These are the most popular, so make your choice!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – already had all the supplies.

Song of the Day:

Sandwich song…this dude is really into his sandwich:

P.S. – No meat? No love from me on that lame sandwich.

 

