Tags

, , , , ,

COOKIE MONSTER DAY

ME WANT COOKIES!!!! I love Cookie Monster. He is easily my favorite Sesame Street character. I have had the pleasure of reconnecting with my buddy, Cookie, now that I am subjected to children’s programming on a regular basis. It only has justified my love though, he is just as awesome as ever. Since I already had some Cookie Monster gear, today’s holiday was easy to celebrate. Plus, Rosa got into the spirit and brought Cookie Monster cupcakes to work today:

How do you like our Cookie Monster ensembles? I have had that shirt since high school I think, I just can’t get rid of it! Rosa opted for Cookie’s signature blue color for her shirt today. We also had to have some, what else?? COOKIES!

Om nom nom nom. Roman loves Cookie Monster too (because I told him to, or else…):

Can you tell he’s glued to the television here? He is definitely Rich and I’s child…tv and cookies. That’s all you need.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – Thanks Rosa for all the treats today!!

PLAN YOUR EPITAPH DAY

There are some people who may find this one a little morbid, but I think it’s something that everyone needs to think about. Not necessarily what you want your gravestone to say, but the fact that you indeed are going to need a gravestone one day. Hey, that rhymes! Good start to planning my epitaph. I started to get really philosophical when I thought about today’s holiday. What would I want my gravestone to say? Something funny? Something deep and thoughtful? After mulling it over for a while I reduced life to what I think it is all about. Now for the big reveal, here is what I want my epitaph to say:

Hayley Dege

1982 – ??

A good person.

Plain and simple. If I had to have one goal in life it is to be a good person. Right now I would classify myself as a decent person, not necessarily in the realm of good yet. I need to work on that so my gravestone can be accurate. Being a good person is the best thing you can do in life, in my opinion. So, there we go, my epitaph is planned. Here are some of the more famous last words of others for your enjoyment:

John Belushi 

  • “He could have given us a few more laughs, but noooooo”

Mel Blanc 

  • “That’s all, folks!”

Robert Frost

  • “I had a lover’s quarrel with the world”

Jesse James 

  • “Murdered by a traitor and a coward whose name is not worthy to appear here”

Jeremiah Johnson

“I told you I was sick.”

Martin Luther King, Jr.

  • “Free at last. Free at last. Thank God Almighty I’m Free At Last.”

Jim Morrison

  • “Truth to your own spirit” (originally in Greek, ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ)

Osho

  • “Never born, Never died: only visited this planet earth between December 11, 1931 and, January 19, 1990.”

William Shakespeare

  • “Good friend, for Jesus’ sake forebear
    To dig the dust enclosed here.
    Blessed be the man that spares these stones,
    And cursed be he that moves my bones.”

Frank Sinatra 

  • “The best is yet to come.”

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

C is For Cookie by Cookie Monster:

 

P.S. – If only to amuse my husband, an extra bonus clip:

 

 

