Tags

, , , , , ,

REPTILE AWARENESS DAY

The reptile house at the Detroit Zoo is usually not my favorite exhibit. In fact, I get the heebie jeebies in there with all the snakes and lizards. I’m getting squirmy just thinking about it right now. So today’s holiday is a little rough for me. Alligators, turtles and crocodiles I’m cool with though. They don’t freak me out like snakes…eek! To celebrate today I did some research on reptiles. I learned mainly about the differences between reptiles and amphibians because this is a common mixup apparently. The big difference is how they reproduce. They both lay eggs (with the exception of a few snakes that have live young…anyone watch Dexter this season???), but reptile eggs have a hard leathery shell while amphibian eggs are soft eggs with no outer shell. Reptile eggs are laid on land while amphibian eggs are laid in the water. When reptile babies are born they look like miniature versions of their parents. When amphibian babies are born, they are in the form of tadpoles and have to stay in the water to survive. Reptiles are mostly land animals while amphibians are water lovers. Have you all enjoyed your mini science lesson for the day? I have! I thought it would be fun to see some real live reptiles today too. The zoo was out, the hours were not conducive to my work schedule and it was about 47 degrees today….So, I opted for the next best thing – PetSmart:

Whoa whoa whoa….do you see what I see? Frogs and toads as reptiles? I think not! Where were they during my lesson? I better call them and let them know, I’m sure they’ll change it immediately. That is pretty crappy though, completely wrong species there….boo. Here are a few closeups of some of the little guys (sorry for the bad pics, I was using the non-awesome camera):

Roman checking them out…sort of:

He was much more enthralled with the kittens. Hopefully he stays that way…I don’t think I will handle it well if he tells me he wants a pet snake when he gets older. A turtle? Okay, I can deal with that one.

As a final bonus, here’s this month’s survey! Vote for your favorite reptile:

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles theme song. They are only the most radical reptiles around!

P.S. – Donatello was my favorite solely because he was the purple one.

