Tags

, , ,

EVALUATE YOUR LIFE DAY

Life. What does it all mean? I suppose we will never truly know the answer to that question. Or maybe after you die you are let in on all the mysteries of life, that would be irony at its best. Today’s holiday is a day to reflect on your life. Where you have been, where you are now and where you want to be in the future. I have to say I am content with my lot in life. I had a great childhood, fun college years and am very happy with where I am at now. I have a wonderful personal life and a satisfactory career. Do I like my job? Sure. Do I love it? Not sure I would go that far. Of course if I had all the jobs in the world sitting on a plate in front of me, this one is probably not my #1 choice. I think there are many people out there that feel the same way. We can’t all have super awesome amazingly perfect jobs. Do you think people really grow up wanting to clean toilets or pick up garbage? Probably not. (Unless you ask Rich who actually wanted to be a garbage man when he was growing up….high ambitions indeed!) I can at least say that I am using my college degree in my current position. All that education was not in vain! Plus, I don’t look at my job as what defines me. I look at what I have that matters. A loving family, a great husband, a fantastic little boy and marvelous friends. Isn’t that what is all comes down to? Some days it is harder to see the good in life and to remember what’s important. All we can try to do is be the best person we can be every single day. Not just for others around you, but for yourself. Put yourself first in happiness, the rest will follow.

Now after my uplifting speech, I present a lovely picture of Rich and I having a belated anniversary dinner today: 

Since we had some quality alone time we discussed our life as a family and where we want it to go in the future. It is important to be on the same page as your partner, this requires compromise by both parties. Compromise and wine….plenty of wine!! 

Cheers to life! Make the best of it, you only get one.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

 

HAGFISH DAY

Hagfish Day….what the heck is a hagfish? This was my first thought. I looked it up and was severely disgusted by what I saw:  

Eeeewwwww! There is a holiday based around this??? After some further research I found the real story behind this holiday. WhaleTimes, the group that created the holiday, explains that Hagfish Day is a day to ‘celebrate the beauty of ugly.’ It is also to ‘raise awareness and understanding of the uniqueness and significance of all sea creatures — even the ugly, slimy, misunderstood, or unusual.’ Alright alright, I can get behind this. I found it to be funny yet disconcerting that popularity contests exist in species other than humans. I freely admit that if I am faced with a hagfish vs. a cute little clown fish, I’m going clown fish all the way. Beauty attracts, it’s a fact of life. Not just with us humans, but also with what us humans gravitate towards. People like pretty. Looking at the hagfish is not pretty. Even though I know I’m supposed to be celebrating the beauty of ugly, I seriously almost gag whenever I sneak a peek at that thing. They are important to the ocean’s ecosystem though. They serve a purpose as does every living thing on this planet. In the spirit of the hagfish I visited one of the best holiday sites I have seen so far: http://www.whaletimes.org/HagfishDay.htm. Here they offer a lot of learning tools and ways to celebrate, hooray! I thought about the hagfish bouquet, but that was just too icky. So, here is my hagfish cootie catcher I made today: 

I got to write in my own fortunes so I had some fun with that. Sorry hagfish, I know I said a lot of bad things about you today. I will try to keep an open mind and realize that you look the way you do for a reason. Heck, maybe you think I’m ugly! More power to you, hagfish.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

 

Song of the Day:

It was one of those ‘song in head’ days so I had to go with my gut. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da by The Beatles:

P.S. – Life does go on friends, don’t sweat the small stuff!

 

