Tags

, , ,

NATIONAL GROUCH DAY

Today’s holiday is a day to embrace your inner grouch. Grouches are always unhappy and want to make everyone else around them unhappy too. Their main goal in life is to be miserable at all times. Sounds like a bad way of looking at life. I admit I have grouchy days, sometimes more often than not. I think everyone needs to just let themselves be in a bad mood every so often, it’s only human. There is nothing wrong with being a grouch every now and then as long as it is a temporary state of mind. Try not to bring other people down with you (I need to be better about this!) and just tell yourself that tomorrow will be better. The most famous grouch of all is Oscar the Grouch from Sesame Street. I find if very amusing that they have characters like Oscar on kids shows. It’s a good thing in my opinion. Kids need to realize that there are all different types of people out there, not everyone is happy-go-lucky all the time. To celebrate today’s holiday, Roman rocked his Oscar the Grouch tee: He also has a book called, Yuccy, Yuccy that is all about Oscar:

My Mom also had an Oscar the Grouch book she read to him today. Roman knows all about how to be a grouch now, not that he needed a book to tell him how to do that. 🙂

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – Roman already had his sweet shirt and book.

 

SWEETEST DAY

My sole reason for celebrating Sweetest Day as part of this blog was to figure out exactly where this holiday came from. I have never been one to celebrate the holiday regularly, it seems a tad bit unnecessary. After reading up about it, I see that my feelings are not unfounded. It was created in 1928 by a Cleveland committee of 12 confectioners. Oh, I see what’s happening here. The candy makers make a holiday to sell their product. It was originally promoted as a an “occasion which offers all of us an opportunity to remember the sick, aged and orphaned, but also friends, relatives and associates whose helpfulness and kindness we have enjoyed.” Yeah, I think we have swayed a bit from those sentiments. Sweetest Day is basically only celebrated in the Midwest. Detroit and Cleveland are the two biggest cities that recognize this holiday. The Sanders Candy Company has perpetuated this holiday in our fair city. So, my suspicions were right. This is a ‘Hallmark Holiday”. Now that I know, I don’t feel as bad about not participating in the past. One Valentine’s Day is good enough for me! I snapped this shot of a random corner-shop setup while I was out and about today:

Looks a little sad, doesn’t it? I have no qualms with Sweetest Day or those that choose to celebrate it every year. Any reason to celebrate is good by me. I actually bought Rich a bag of Kit Kats to commemorate the occasion. It was also his birthday, so I had much more reason to celebrate my Sweetie today!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $2

Clip of the Day:

The Grouch Anthem from Follow That Bird:

 

P.S. – Who knew there were so many grouches out there?? I thought it was only Oscar!

 

 

