Tags

, , , ,

October 10th Holidays

COLUMBUS DAY

Columbus Day. What does this mean to me? Well, it means that I still have to go to work, the banks are closed and I will not receive any mail today. Oh, and they usually have some random Columbus Day sales at the mall. Special, right? Luckily I had the foresight to take off Columbus Day because I knew I would need a recovery day from our vacation. Boy, was I right. I felt like had been run over by a boat (get my reference here?) and I needed the day to recoup. Let me tell you, travelling with a child is no picnic. What I’m getting at here is that I sort of slacked on my celebrations today so don’t expect greatness on this one. To celebrate Columbus’s voyage I crafted this beautiful boat. It is sailing on the BeBe Sea in this pic:

 It reminded me of when we had to make clay boats in 2nd grade and see how many pennies they could hold. I am no seafarer though, not by a longshot. In fact, I vomit quite regularly when out in boats in the ocean. Several of my friends and family can attest to that. So, Christopher Columbus, good work on ‘discovering’ America. Well, except Leif got there first and oh yeah, we forgot about those darn Native Americans….hence the word NATIVE. I’ll leave you all with this funny tidbit that was floating around Facebook today: 

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

NATIONAL KICK BUTT DAY

National Kick Butt Day is a day to kick-start yourself into doing something that you have either been putting off or have not found the motivation for previously. As noted earlier, I lazed out on this holiday. I had intentions of finally getting back on my treadmill and starting my running regimen again. I hate making excuses, but I was completely drained and it didn’t happen. Yes, I am a failure. I instead spent the day hoping that the Tigers and Lions would kick some butt. I was let down by the Tigers, but Monday Night Football with the Lions was not a disappointment. They are 5-0 now, can you believe it?? Lions bandwagon here I come!!!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

Funny or Die clip of an early Christopher Columbus:

http://FunnyOrDie.com/m/4qdc

P.S. – I had that Columbus song in my head all day…In the year of 1492, Columbus sailed the ocean blue…

 

