Tags

, , , ,

NATIONAL COFFEE DAY

Coffee – the best legal drug out there. I personally am not caffeine addicted, unlike many of my coworkers. I am a one cup a day kinda gal. I have my coffee in the morning, with extra cream and Splenda, and I’m good to go. I do enjoy treating myself to a special latte every now and then. My favorite coffee establishment is Biggby Coffee, formerly known as Beaner’s before they had to change their name due to the obvious racial slur. Where was the marketing genius on that one?? I developed a slight addiction to their specialty coffee drinks right after I had Roman. I had been deprived of caffeinated coffee for so long that I went a bit overboard. The fun stopped after I decided to look up how many calories were in one of those beastly drinks…needless to say, it wasn’t a mystery anymore why I was holding onto those last few pregnancy pounds. I decided that I needed to go there this morning to celebrate today’s holiday. I selected the delicious Pumpkin Spice Latte:

Hey, everyone’s talking about them and they are only in season for so long, so I took advantage. It was delightful just as I expected. Here I am in my car enjoying my café (don’t worry, I took this picture while I was parked and not flying down the expressway): 

On any other workday, Karri and I meet up in the office kitchen to get our fix and also discuss the standard workplace gossip. It is our ‘water cooler’ moment, if you will. I snapped a pic of Karri getting her drink on this morning: 

I chose to wait until after I enjoyed my beverage before checking out the nutritional damage. Read it and weep: 

406 calories, 14 grams of fat and 53 carbs?? Yikes! This is why this needs to be a special treat and not an everyday splurge. I looked up the calories specifically to help celebrate today’s other holiday…see below…

Total Cost to Celebrate: $5.72 – yet another reason I opt for crappy office coffee each morning!

NATIONAL WOMEN’S HEALTH & FITNESS DAY

I be up in the gym just workin’ on my fitness. I wish I was Fergalicious…but I’m not the most exercise happy chick. I go through spurts where I am really into it and then I fall off the wagon. I have just about every exercise DVD known to man. I especially go through, “I’m going to be a runner!” kicks. I despise running…absolutely loathe it while it is actually happening. I have always wanted to be a runner though. I don’t know why, it’s unexplainable considering my hatred towards the actual activity, but running a marathon seems like it would be an amazing accomplishment. Heck, running a 5K would be incredible in my world! I was just beginning to start up running again a month or so ago and then I lost interest again after a couple weeks. Boo for me, I know. I really need to make it a real habit and not just quit because I missed one day. To celebrate today’s holiday I wore my nifty pedometer around all day. My goal was to burn off the calories in that giant coffee I had this morning. Not an easy feat considering I sit on my butt in front of a computer all day at work. Luckily, or unfortunately (depends on how you look at it), we were hosting our quarterly event at the office today. What that means for me is extra running around and staying 3 hours later than usual to schmooze with the clients…sounds fun, huh? After logging all those hours at work, here is my grand total number of steps I took today: 

I had long ago calibrated my pedometer to my running speed so the distance and calorie counts were a bit off. After some mathematical magic, I determined that I traveled 3.76 miles and burned 278 calories. Not too shabby for having a desk job. I did not, however, burn off all the calories from my latte. That is crazy to me! I walked almost 4 miles and did not burn off a coffee?? I am definitely going to rethink all those empty calories even more after this little experiment. Next up is to get back on that running horse…not a real horse…oh, you know what I mean.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

Physical by Olivia Newton-John. Easily the most ridiculous, disturbing and confusing music video I have ever seen in my life:

P.S. – Camel toe alert!

