Tags

, , , ,

ELEPHANT APPRECIATION DAY

Did you know that on average elephants spend 16 hours a day eating and 2 hours a day sleeping? In honor of Elephant Appreciation Day, I did a little research on elephants. I learned a lot of interesting things and this caused me to truly appreciate elephants more. I had always liked them, just as I like all animals, but reading about them really opened my eyes. My pal, Karri, advised me about an Elephant Sanctuary that I could donate to today. Here is the website: www.elephants.com.

It is amazing. I read each individual elephant’s bio and was surprised to learn about some of their backstories and personality traits. My favorite thing is how they all have best buddies in the sanctuary. They are always hanging out with their favorite friends. One of them is even best buds with a dog, how cute is that? (See Clip of the Day)

I elected to donate to this fabulous cause and I’m satisfied to know my money will go towards helping these incredible animals.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $30

HOBBIT DAY

“I made a promise, Mr. Frodo. A promise. ‘Don’t you leave him Samwise Gamgee.’ And I don’t mean to.” I love me some Lord of the Rings.  I have seen all 3 movies many many times and even sat through the 3.5 hour The Return of the King twice while it was in the theater. BTW – that is something I never do, so yes it’s a big deal. Although there are many different races of people in these stories, the hobbits are the stars. At least that’s how I look at it. Today is Hobbit Day because it is both Bilbo and Frodo Baggins’ birthday. Well isn’t that special? They have the same birthday! Here are some fun facts about hobbit culture:

  • Average height of a hobbit is 3’ 6”
  • Hobbit life includes farming, eating and socializing
  • They eat 6 (large) meals a day
  • Hobbits enjoy smoking pipe-weed – “Your love of the halflings’ leaf has clearly slowed your mind.”
  • Hobbits live in holes that have round doors
  • They have large, tough hairy feet and do not
    wear shoes

Sounds like a pretty content existence if you ask me. For today’s holiday I donned my best hobbit look:

Check out my sweet elven brooch. That’s right it’s a cheap replica, but I still feel special:

Here’s to hobbits!!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $6

 

Clip of the Day:

Tarra and Bella, the animal odd couple:

P.S. – Yes, this made me cry. Is anyone surprised by that?

